What’s wrong if I am a basketball aficionado?

At first, I am not really a basketball aficionado, I hate basketball because for me it was a boring game, a game for men only. I remember the time when I’m watching my favorite soap opera way back midst of 1990’s and I’m young that time, my brother transfer the channel into basketball without asking my permission. I am really mad and upset to him, i can’t do anything but a deep sigh. While my 4 brothers were enjoying what they are watching, I was so boring and wanted to walked out on that very moment. Considering that I am the one who first watching the TV then they hurriedly coming in and transferring the channel to the program which I am not fond of watching.

The game they’ve watched was Ginebra-San Miguel play offs, I saw Ramon Fernandez in Purefoods team wherein I used to know this man in Toyota-Crispa days. Until I have noticed myself watching the games and feel relax unlike on the previous moment that I am totally devastated but quite tense especially on it’s last 2 minutes. The game ended, and Purefoods won the game. I don’t know what happen to me that time, because, I wanted to watch again basketball game, I am really excited on their next play off.

Their next pit arrives, and it was game 2 if I am not mistaken. I found again myself excitedly watching it, and not only that, I am cheering for Purefoods team that time. I am starting to like the man in that team: like Alvin Patrimonio, Gerry Codinera, Jojo Lastimosa, Al Solis, Franz Pumaren, etc, but most especially Ramon Fernandez.

Purefoods was the champion on that season, and before the season has ended, I have noticed that I become a fan of PBA not only on that particular team. San Miguel was the second team I’d choose, until I become familiar and a fan also to Allan Caidic, Yves Dignadice, Samboy Lim and many others, I am so familiar of course to the living legend Robert Jaworski. But I didn’t like him, for me he was more on physical and dirty games.

Since I’ve watched the play offs of Ginebra-Purefoods, I became interested in the basketball, and change the outlook on assessing that from boring game, it was a heart breaking moment, it was really-really fun and exciting.

But when Ramon Fernandez and Robert Jaworski retired on PBA, my interest in basketball was lessening. I am not so interested anymore. But I still watch basketball and it is if I’m in the mood only, 39238_145356512150820_4204379_n

40493_145356348817503_8096045_n

Until I’ve experienced to watch the live basketball in Cuneta Astrodome. The game was the Hoopsters which are our very own team vs, the Legends. The selection of the veterans or the legends were composing of Gerry Codinera, Atoy Co, Philip Cezar, Alvarez, etc. My interest in basketball arouse again, almost have no voice that time because I keep on shouting, and cheering for both team but more on Hoopsters :-). The Hoopster lose the game, but not so sad because I know, the Legends were great and they are really the players unlike the amateur Hoopster players. The game was not for anything else but it was for public service, the proceeds was benefited the less fortunate as well as for the free college education in which it is bro. Daniel Razon’s one of his brainchild.

553469_10150693507669839_967750633_n

394524_10150689135254839_1685747149_n

391500_10150689115774839_1563417314_n

Years had passed, got a chance to watched again the live basketball game entitled “Sing and Shoot” and it was on the big dome Araneta Coliseum. It was more exciting and lots of funny moments. The Celebrities vs. the Public Servants, both team was not professional players, they made it possible just to give assistance to bro. Daniel’s free college education. It was a great success not for everybody’s glory, but for the glory of God…The Sing and Shoot had a part 2 last year, and will be having the part 3 and the championship on July 29 God willing.

My interest on basketball was more intense, because I am not fond only in PBA, but also even on non-player like the public servants and some celebrities. And very recently, I am now a NBA aficionado, and I go for Miami Heat team..

999732_10151609274853463_1636542005_n

I started to know LeBron James and coach Erick Spoelstra only last year because of my husband, He was a fan of Miami heat, and I’ve found out that this team plays really great and amazing especially on the finals of game 6 wherein Spurs was eyeing their victory, in which on the 4th quarter of 28 seconds,Spurs was ahead of 5 but then it sends to an overtime and it was Spurs great nightmare but the sweetest moments for the Heat that gives them the chance to play in game 7 and get the championship trophy..The effort of LeBron, Wade, Bosh and Allen gives the headache of the spurs plus the genius instruction of half Filipino coach Spo..
I don’t know why the haters keep on lambasting LeBron… I think this guy has a good heart, haters and fans of Heat were like a little child that keeps on fighting and teasing, but look both team were good friends, and we see them after game7 kissing and hugging showing respect to each other.

Well, the haters must stop crying, just accept the fact that Miami Heat gets back to back championship, and God willing the 3peat next year.

Anyways, congrats still to San Antonio Spurs for being a good sport and playing a nice game as well…And of course to Miami Heat team for winning their 2nd victory in a row!!!

1005282_10151605317243463_104888616_n

Games and sports like basketball are not prohibited in the bible, in fact there’s a verse concerning this matter and it was written in
I TIMOTHY 4:8
For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.

Yes, bodily exercise profits a little, but of course we have to practice more holiness than anything else. There is nothing wrong to become a fan of any sports and there’s nothing wrong also to watch TV shows but what is wrong will be the couch potato attitude.

Leave a comment

Ginoong Manunula(t)

Bienvenida en mi Mundo!

Isang Araw Lang

Just another WordPress.com weblog

i elman blog

Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. Psalm 103:1 KJV

Key to the Locked Book

Hounded by the enemy, he still carries on

Ang Dating Daan + Adherent

"Let love be without dissimulation. Abhor that which is evil; cleave to that which is good." — Romans 12:9 (KJV)

Ang Dating Daan

Jeremias 6:16

Steward Secrets of God

Upon whom it was revealed

A Fan Blog for Kuya Daniel Razon

"We support the ISANG ARAW LANG campaign!"

esoriano

The Official Blog of the Presiding Minister, Members of the Church of God, International www.mcgi.org

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.